Home / About MHS / Departments & Staff / Collections

Collections

Telephone: 651-259-3252   ·  Fax: 651-296-9961
E-mail: collections@mnhs.org

Collections Department staff members serve the people of Minnesota by documenting the history and culture of the state. Using their special knowledge, they build the collections of the Minnesota Historical Society through the selection and acquisition of art, books, government records, maps, personal papers, organizational records, 3D objects, film, video, historical and fine art photographs, and music.

The cost of acquiring, processing, conserving, storing and providing access to collection items is large. All items from donors are reviewed by staff members before being accepted, which ensures that the items do not duplicate those already owned by the Society. And, while the Society collects many things, not all items are appropriate for its collections. People wishing to donate items to the collections should fill out the Potential Acquisition form.

Brian Szott, Head of Collections
651-259-3244
brian.szott@mnhs.org
Administration, Fine Art, Fine Art Photography, Posters, Photography

Dan Cagley
651-259-3253
daniel.cagley@mnhs.org
Collections Manager, Repository Archaeology

Patrick Coleman
651-259-3245
patrick.coleman@mnhs.org
Books, Newspapers, Maps, Pamphlets, Printed Material

Shelby Edwards
651-259-3243
shelby.edwards@mnhs.org
Collections Assistant for Manuscripts

Benjamin Gessner
651-259-3281
benjamin.gessner@mnhs.org
Collections Associate, American Indian and Fine Art Collections

Jennifer Huebscher
651-259-3354
jennifer.huebscher@mnhs.org
Associate Curator of Photography and Moving Images

Nicole Delfino Jansen
651-259-3272
nicole.delfino@mnhs.org
Central Registrar

Lesley Kadish
651-259-3275
lesley.kadish@mnhs.org
Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Archival Maps

Stephanie Olson
651-259-3119
stephanie.olson@mnhs.org
Collections Assistant

Jason Onerheim
651-259-3276
jason.onerheim@mnhs.org
Collections Assistant

Will Peterson
651-259-3301
william.peterson@mnhs.org
Collections Assistant

Sondra Reierson
651-259-3247
sondra.reierson@mnhs.org
Associate Curator, 3D Objects

Adam Scher
651-259-3256
adam.scher@mnhs.org
3D Objects

Duane Swanson
651-259-3318
duane.swanson@mnhs.org
Manuscripts

Rita Walaszek
651-259-3282
rita.walaszek@mnhs.org
Collections Assistant

Lori Williamson
651-259-3252
lori.williamson@mnhs.org
Books, Other Printed Materials, General Questions or Multiple Holding Types