Home / About MHS / Historic sites and museums

Historic sites and museums

View details of each site managed directly or in partership with other organizations.

The Minnesota Historical Society operates 31 historic sites and museums, and manages 26 historic sites and museums in all.

14 sites are managed directly by MHS:

  • Forest History Center
  • Historic Forestville
  • Historic Fort Snelling
  • Oliver H. Kelley Farm
  • James J. Hill House
  • Jeffers Petroglyphs
  • Charles A. Lindbergh House
  • Mille Lacs Indian Museum
  • Minnesota History Center
  • Minnesota State Capitol
  • North West Company Post
  • Alexander Ramsey House
  • Sibley House Historic Site
  • Split Rock Lighthouse

Eight sites are partnership agreements in which other organizations manage the sites. MHS cares for buildings and site, gives some financial support.
Partnership Historic Sites:

  • Comstock House - Moorhead
  • Folsom House - Taylorís Falls
  • Minnehaha Depot - Minneapolis
  • Lac qui Parle Mission - Montevideo
  • Fort Ridgely - Fairfax
  • Harkin Store -New Ulm
  • W.W. Mayo House - Le Sueur
  • Lower Sioux Agency - Morton

Five sites are held for preservation and are not open to the public in any capacity. Maintained in a minimal fashion, but still important to state history.
Sites Held for Preservation:

  • Grand Mound
  • Morrison Mounds
  • Stumne Mounds
  • Fort Renville
  • Upper Sioux Agency

Some are merely ruins or unattended trails with interpretive sign such as Marine Mill but important to state history. Self-guided Trail Historic Sites

  • Marine Mill - Marine-on-St. Croix
  • Traverse de Sioux - St. Peter
  • Birch Coulee Battlefield - Morton