Winners Announced Today for 'Dear President Lincoln' Student Writing Contest

For immediate release

Release dated: 
May 4, 2013
Media contacts: 

Jessica Kohen • Marketing and Communications • 651-259-3148 •

Julianna Olsen • Marketing and Communications • 651-259-3039 •

Winners Announced Today for 'Dear President Lincoln' Student Writing Contest

The Minnesota Historical Society announced today the winners of the "Dear President Lincoln" Student Writing Contest. Two junior high students (grades 6-8) and two senior high students (grades 9-12) won. The winners are:

Braeden Lanter (6th grade), Wheaton Area Schools (Traverse County) Junior division, all schools

Amanda Schubert (12th grade), Sauk Rapids-Rice High School (Rice) Senior division, all schools

Annabel Chosy (7th grade), Lake Harriet Community School (Minneapolis) Junior division, History Day

Joshua Hamel (10th grade) Schaeffer Academy (Rochester) Senior division, History Day Each students has won:

  • a trip to the Gettysburg National Military Park in Pennsylvania and
  • an iPad to blog about their experience.
  • The senior division winner will also be offered a paid internship opportunity with the Minnesota Historical Society, worth up to $1,000.

Five students from each age division have been recognized as finalists and will receive a one-year membership to the Minnesota Historical Society. For a list of all winners and details about the program visit the "Dear President Lincoln" website.

This prize is co-sponsored by the Minnesota Historical Society and the Minnesota Civil War Task Force.

This program is offered in conjunction with the "Minnesota and the Civil War" exhibit, on view at the Minnesota History Center through Sept. 8, 2013.