New Members Join Minnesota Historical Society Executive Council in 2015

For immediate release

Release dated: 
February 27, 2015
Media contacts: 

Jessica Kohen, Marketing and Communications, 651-259-3148,
Megan Lawson, Marketing and Communications, 651-259-3141,

New Members Join Minnesota Historical Society Executive Council in 2015

The Minnesota Historical Society is pleased to welcome six new members to the Executive Council in 2015, making up a board of 25 members. The new members are:

  • Michael B. Farnell, Rochester
  • Jean Larson, Thief River Falls
  • Kirby Law, St. Paul
  • Benjamin Vander Kooi, Luverne
  • Judge Peter M. Reyes, Roseville
  • Warren J. Zaccaro, Minnetonka

Executive Council members serve three-year terms. The new members were recommended by the Executive Council to the MNHS membership and approved last fall.

The Executive Council is charged with establishing policy, monitoring programs and services, protecting the Society's financial integrity and selecting, supporting and evaluating the Director and CEO. In addition, the council oversees the annual budget, non-budgeted expenditures, and the sale of major assets.

View the complete list of current Executive Council members.

About the Minnesota Historical Society

The Minnesota Historical Society is a non-profit educational and cultural institution established in 1849. The Society collects, preserves and tells the story of Minnesota’s past through museum exhibits, libraries and collections, historic sites, educational programs and book publishing. Using the power of history to transform lives, the Society preserves our past, shares our state’s stories and connects people with history.

The Minnesota Historical Society is supported in part by its Premier Partners: Xcel Energy and Explore Minnesota Tourism.