Minnesota Historical Society Announces Election of New Executive Council Members

For immediate release

Release dated: 
December 16, 2011
Media contacts: 

Jessica Kohen, Marketing and Communications, 651-259-3148, jessica.kohen@mnhs.org
Julianna Olsen, Marketing and Communications, 651-259-3039, julianna.olsen@mnhs.org

Minnesota Historical Society Announces Election of New Executive Council Members

The Minnesota Historical Society has announced the election of four new members and the re-election of seven current members to its Executive Council.

The Society is governed by an Executive Council whose members are elected by the general membership at its annual meeting in November. There are also five ex-officio members comprised of elected state officers. Members of the council serve terms of three years, and officers are elected annually by the council.

The council is charged with holding in trust for the public the assets of the Minnesota Historical Society, overseeing the Society’s fiduciary responsibilities, and ensuring the quality of programs and services. It also performs duties mandated by the Legislature.  

New to the council are:

David Hakensen of Minnetonka
David Hakensenis senior vice president and general manager of the Twin Cities office of Fleishman-Hillard, Inc. He has served on the Minnetonka Community Heritage Commission, Minnetonka Community Commission, and the Minneapolis Downtown Marketing Committee. He currently serves on the Society’s Marketing Committee.

Dennis Lamkin of Duluth
As a vice president and senior property manager for U. S. Bank, Dennis Lamkin has been an advisor on real estate matters to three Minnesota governors and four commissioners of the Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board. His community service includes board affiliations with the Duluth Public Arts Commission, Duluth Preservation Alliance, Duluth Superior Symphony Orchestra, and Historic GlensheenMansion.

Elizabeth Nordlie of Wayzata
Elizabeth Nordlieis vice president and business unit director of the Pillsbury Division of General Mills. She is involved with many community organizations and serves on the board of the Pillsbury Fresh Dough Funsters.

Susan Kenny Stevens of St. Paul
Susan Kenny Stevens is a management consultant providing strategic guidance to the nonprofit sector. A speaker and instructor, she is also the author of five books, including the award-winning "Nonprofit Lifecycles."

Re-elected to the Executive Council are: Brenda Child of St. Paul, Charles Mahar of St. Paul, Dean Nelson of St. Paul, Peter Reis of White Bear Lake, Simon Stevens of Minneapolis, Eleanor Winston of Wayzata and Judith Corson of Deephaven. The complete Executive Council list can be found here.

The Minnesota Historical Society is a non-profit educational and cultural institution established in 1849. Its essence is to illuminate the past as a way to shed light on the future. The Society collects, preserves and tells the story of Minnesota’s past through museum exhibits, libraries and collections, historic sites, educational programs and book publishing.