New Members Join Minnesota Historical Society Executive Council in 2016

For immediate release

Release dated: 
December 11, 2015
Media contacts: 

Jessica Kohen, Marketing and Communications, 651-259-3148,
Lauren Peck, Marketing and Communications, 651-259-3137,

New Members Join Minnesota Historical Society Executive Council in 2016

The Minnesota Historical Society is pleased to welcome four new members to the Executive Council in 2016, making up a board of 26 members. The new members are:

  • Barbara Burwell, Wayzata
  • Grant Davis, Woodbury
  • Monica Little, Minneapolis
  • Bo Thao-Urabe, Eagan

Executive Council members serve three-year terms. The new members were recommended by the Executive Council to the MNHS membership and approved last fall.

The Executive Council is charged with establishing policy, monitoring programs and services, protecting MNHS' financial integrity and selecting, supporting and evaluating the Director and CEO. In addition, the council oversees the annual budget, non-budgeted expenditures, and the sale of major assets.

View the complete list of current Executive Council members.

About the Minnesota Historical Society

The Minnesota Historical Society is a non-profit educational and cultural institution established in 1849. MNHS collects, preserves and tells the story of Minnesota’s past through museum exhibits, libraries and collections, historic sites, educational programs and book publishing. Using the power of history to transform lives, MNHS preserves our past, shares our state’s stories and connects people with history.

The Minnesota Historical Society is supported in part by its Premier Partners: Xcel Energy and Explore Minnesota Tourism.