New Members Join Minnesota Historical Society Executive Council in 2018

For immediate release

Release dated: 
November 28, 2017
Media contacts: 

Jessica Kohen, 651-259-3148,
Lauren Peck, 651-259-3137,

New Members Join Minnesota Historical Society Executive Council in 2018

The Minnesota Historical Society is pleased to welcome four new members to the Executive Council in 2018, making up a board of 26 members. The new members are:

Dr. Ford Watson Bell, Wayzata
Dr. Bell is president of the Hennepin Health Foundation at Hennepin County Medical Center in Minneapolis. Prior to this position, he served as the president of the American Alliance of Museums from 2007 to 2015 and president and CEO of the Minneapolis Heart Institute Foundation at Abbott Northwestern from 1995 to 2005. He received his DVM from the University of Minnesota and is a board-certified veterinary oncologist. Dr. Bell has served on various boards, including Connecticut College, advisory board of the James Ford Bell Museum of Natural History, Associates of the James Ford Bell Library at the University of Minnesota, and served as chair of the board of the Minneapolis Institute of Art.

Judge Michael J. Davis, Minneapolis
Judge Davis was appointed by President Clinton and took the oath of office on March 30, 1994. He was chief judge of the district of Minnesota from 2008 to 2015 and the first African American federal judge in Minnesota. Judge Davis has been an adjunct professor at the University of Minnesota Law School and has lectured at Oxford University and the FBI Academy. Judge Davis serves on the board of the University of Minnesota Foundation, Legal Rights Center, Neighborhood Justice Center, Macalester College Board of Counselors for Equal Justice Works, and is an advisory board member of the Jack Mason Law and Democracy Initiative, a project of Books for Africa.

Mr. Mitch Davis, St. Peter
Mr. Davis is the general manager of Davis Family Dairies and actively promotes the use of technology in food production and sustainability in all areas of agribusiness. Mr. Davis also is a partner in Sun Country Airlines and Cambria and currently serves on the State Fair Foundation Board and the Board of the Center of the American Experiment. Mr. Davis has a degree in food science and nutrition from the University of Minnesota.

Dr. MayKao Hang, Woodbury
Dr. Hang is the president and CEO of the Amherst H. Wilder Foundation. She is chair of the Minneapolis Federal Reserve Bank, a trustee with Minnesota Philanthropy Partners, an advisory committee member for John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, a national advisory chair for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Interdisciplinary Research Leaders Program, and a founding member and chair of the Coalition of Asian American Leaders in Minnesota. Dr. Hang was recently named one of the “most admired CEOs” through the Minneapolis-St. Paul Business Journal.

Executive Council members serve three-year terms. The new members were recommended by the Executive Council to the MNHS membership and approved this fall.

The Executive Council is charged with establishing policy, monitoring programs and services, protecting MNHS' financial integrity and selecting, supporting and evaluating the Director and CEO. In addition, the council oversees the annual budget, non-budgeted expenditures, and the sale of major assets.

View the complete list of current Executive Council members.

About the Minnesota Historical Society

The Minnesota Historical Society is a non-profit educational and cultural institution established in 1849. MNHS collects, preserves and tells the story of Minnesota’s past through museum exhibits, libraries and collections, historic sites, educational programs and book publishing. Using the power of history to transform lives, MNHS preserves our past, shares our state’s stories and connects people with history.

The Minnesota Historical Society is supported in part by its Premier Partners: Xcel Energy and Explore Minnesota Tourism.