Experience the sights, the history, and the technology behind this signature Minnesota landmark anchored on the rocky coast of Lake Superior.
March 1 – April 26, 2024
Visitor center and grounds are open daily, 10:00 am - 4:00 pm, to visitors with a grounds pass. Access to the lighthouse and keeper's house are only available on the Keeper's Tour.
(Closed April 23 & 24, 2024)
Self-guided tour includes access to visitor center and historic grounds, excludes lighthouse and keeper's home.
$8 / Free for MNHS members (On-site only)
Private 60-minute guided tour of the historic site includes lighthouse and keeper’s house. Offered at 11:00 am and 1:00 pm on Saturdays, and 11:00 am on Sundays.
$25 / $20 for MNHS members
Children ages 4 and under: Free
What to see and do
See an award-winning film, explore the exhibits, and visit the museum store.
Get a glimpse of lighthouse life in this remote and spectacular setting.
Comprised of 25 acres, the Split Rock Lighthouse historic site also includes the original fog signal building, oil house, and one of the original homes occupied by a lighthouse keeper and his family.
A November gale that wrecked nearly 30 ships in 1905 prompted this rugged landmark's construction. When the U.S. Lighthouse Service completed Split Rock Light Station in 1910, it soon became one of Minnesota's best known destinations.
Nestled in a Minnesota State Park, Split Rock Lighthouse is one of the most photographed and visited spots in the state, with a drama-filled history and breathtaking Lake Superior views. If you haven't visited lately, now is the time to pay homage to a true North Shore icon.