Minnesota  State Archives

Electronic Records Management Guidelines

Annotated List of Resources

Primary Resources:

Minnesota Recordkeeping Metadata Standard (Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology Standard IRM 20)

The Minnesota Recordkeeping Metadata Standard was developed to facilitate records management by government entities at any level of government. It shares many of its elements with other metadata standards, such as the Dublin Core and the Minnesota Geographic Metadata Guidelines set, but goes further to address such issues as access restrictions, data practices, and records retention and disposition, thereby enabling the practical implementation of statutory mandates for records management. The standard is comprised of twenty elements, ten of which are mandatory.


Dublin Core Metadata Initiative

The Dublin Core Metadata Initiative is the official site for the Dublin Core (DC) project. The fifteen-element metadata standard is the product of a number of workshops that began in 1995 and is now an official international standard (NISO Standard Z39.85; ISO Standard 15836).  Intended to serve users in a flexible manner, the elements are all optional, repeatable, and labeled with descriptive names. Metadata generated from this scheme may be represented in a number of ways (e.g., HTML, RDF) for use on the Internet.


Minnesota Department of Natural Resources. Best Practice Guidelines for Web Metadata.

Multiple documents and downloads are available on this web site, including guidelines on how to use the Dublin Core Metadata Element Set as part of the process of archiving web content and a description of each element’s purpose and method of creation. The site also offers a bibliography, a training manual on applying the Dublin Core metadata set, and background reports.


Minnesota Geospatial Information Office (MnGeo).

MnGeo “coordinates that development, implementation, support, and use of geospatial technology.” The MnGeo website offers access to a variety of resources, including standards and the Minnesota Geographic Data Clearinghouse.


Additional Resources:

Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC). Metadata.

This site is sponsored by the FGDC, which is made up of several federal agencies. Working with such partners as state and local governments, the academic community, and industry, the FGDC is supervising the development of the National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI) with the goal of sharing geographic data through standards, policies, and procedures. Through subcommittees and working groups, the FGDC has several geospatial data standards completed or in some stage of development. These include the Cadastral Data Content Standard, the Spatial Data Transfer Standard, the Spatial Data Accuracy Standard, the Address Content Standard, and the Government Unit Boundary Data Content Standard.

The FGDC has developed the Content Standard for Digital Geospatial Metadata (CSDGM) to be used by all federal agencies. This metadata standard is composed of 334 different elements (119 of which only contain sub-elements). The FGDC also coordinates the National Geospatial Data Clearinghouse for participants worldwide interested in sharing digital geospatial data that conforms to the CSDGM. In the future, the CSDGM is expected to be modified to be made compliant with an emerging international metadata standard, ISO 19115.


Minnesota Department of Administration, Office of Enterprise Technology. Minnesota Enterprise Technical Architecture. Version 2.02, 2006.

The Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology (OET) is charged with establishing and maintaining a state information architecture as specified in Minnesota Statue, Chapter 16E.04 Subdivision 2. According to the OET, “This technical architecture is established to describe technology components of the State’s information infrastructure and their individual principles, practices and standards that are to be used to guide the development and delivery of all information systems services. The architecture will provide a reference so that various groups of government IT professionals have a consistent view of the information systems infrastructure and the methods that they employ to develop and deliver information systems services.” Chapter 4, Data and Records Management, describes the framework for managing information resources, as well as the standards and guidelines that apply.


Next Chapter, File Naming  go to filenaming

List of Annotated Resources  go to filenaming

Go to Table of Contents


Electronic Records Management Guidelines, March 2012, Version 5.

Links verified March 13, 2012.