Minnesota  State Archives

Preserving state government digital information:

Records Retention Policies for Selected Legislative Records


This document summarizes the retention policies for legislative records in each of the partner states: Minnesota, California, Illinois, Kansas, Mississippi, Tennessee, and Vermont. In most of the partner states, the legislatures are exempt from state records laws, and often there are no records retention schedules to guide the retention and disposition of legislative records. Preservation of legislative records requires cooperation among the staffs of the state library, state archives, legislature, and information technology organizations in each state.



NDIIPP Project Homepage

October 8, 2008