St. Anthony Falls Heritage Board

In 1988 the Minnesota State Legislature established the St. Anthony Falls Heritage Board for the purpose of providing interpretive resources for the public within the St. Anthony Falls Heritage Zone encircling the Minneapolis central riverfront, an area rich in natural, scenic, recreational and historic elements. Since 1988, the Heritage Board has funded, guided, and spurred countless developments and interpretive efforts along the Minneapolis Riverfront.

St. Anthony Falls interpretive plan|Projects & plans|Board members|Board meetings|Contact us

St. Anthony Falls interpretive plan

In 1989-90 the Heritage Board commissioned an interpretive plan for the St. Anthony Falls Heritage Zone that would provide structure and guidance for the interpretation and preservation of historic features that convey the story of the Minneapolis riverfront. The extent to which this plan has been implemented was evaluated in 2006. The conclusion was that many important components of the plan had been successfully completed, but that more remains to be done.

Power of the Falls: Renewing the Vision for St. Anthony Falls Heritage Zone

Supporting documents

St. Anthony Falls Heritage Zone.

Projects & plans

Since the adoption of the 1990 Interpretive Plan, the Heritage Board has played a role in implementing and funding a number of riverfront projects. Copies of plan documents available by request.

Board members

The Heritage Board consists of 22 members including representatives from the City of Minneapolis, Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board, Hennepin County, Minnesota Historical Society, Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission, State Historic Preservation Office, Minnesota State Legislature, and Hennepin History Museum.

St. Anthony Falls Heritage 2022 members

(Chair) Director of the Minnesota Historical Society
Kent Whitworth

Mayor of the City of Minneapolis
Jacob Frey

Chair of the Hennepin County Board of Commissioners
Angela Conley (Chair Designee)

Chair of the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board
Billy Menz (President’s Designee)

Superintendent of the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board
Al Bangoura

Minnesota House of Representatives
Mohamud Noor
Sydney Jordan

Minnesota State Senate
Kari Dziedzic
Bobby Joe Champion

Minneapolis City Council
Michael Rainville
Robin Wonsley Worlobah

Hennepin County Board of Commissioners
Irene Fernando
Chris LaTondresse

Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board Commissioners
Tom Olsen
Elizabeth Shaffer

Minnesota State Historic Preservation Office
Amy Lucas

Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission
Claire VanderEyk

Hennepin County Historical Society (Hennepin History Museum)
John Crippen

Minnesota Historical Society
David Kelliher

One advisor appointed by the Minneapolis Park & Recreation Board
Sally Grans Korsh

Two advisors appointed by the Chair of the Board
Mona Smith
Edna Brazaitis

Board meetings

St. Anthony Falls Heritage Board meetings have been set for the calendar year.

  • Friday, February 18, 2022
    1:30-3:00 pm
    Location: Videoconferencing by Google Meet
  • Monday, July 18, 2022
    3:30 to 5:00 pm
    Location: Virtual or in-person at Mill City Museum to be determined
  • Monday, November 14, 2022
    3:30 to 5:00 pm
    Location: Minneapolis City Hall, Room 333

Meeting packets will be e-mailed one week prior to each meeting.

If you have questions about board meetings, please contact us.

Contact us

David Stevens
Coordinator, St. Anthony Falls Heritage Board
Minnesota Historical Society
Phone: 612-341-7524
Fax: 612-341-7001